to hold you forever

Hooray! --- as mentioned several days ago; it’s National Poetry Day today, Thursday 6th October :-)

And as per last year, over the last few days, I’ve blipped the series of eight cards that the Scottish Poetry Library has produced to mark the occasion.

And today, I'm blipping my very favourite poem about this year’s theme: messages.

It's from (as pictured) Edwin Morgan's 1997 collection, entitled: 'Virtual and Other Realities' ...

... I quite simply adore this short poem - a message of loss, memory, hope and the deepest of love; to a departed partner. A message about the eternity of love.

And all encapsulated in six short lines ... I really do think it's a piece of sheer poetic genius.

I hope you like it:


The Glass
 
To love you in shadow as in the light
is light itself. In subterranean night
you sow the fields with fireflies of delight.
 
Lanarkshire holds you, under its grim grass.
But I hold what you were, like a bright glass 
I carry brimming through the darkening pass.

---

Edwin Morgan (1920 - 2010)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.