Spring in October!

All around the free parking area where I usually leave my car when I go to work, the wild bushes are all bursting with new leaves.  Had the weather been wet and grey, I wouldn't have noticed it, but with the sun hitting the new leaves with warm yellow light, they stand out very quickly.  Much in haste as I was, I just had to take the cam out of the bag and take some shots.  It's just amazing!  October has always been wet and annoying but it sure has done nothing but break records this year.  We've had nothing but sunshine with a very very occasional shower in the early evening and at night.  It is a whole lot colder, of course, but I don't mind that.  What's important is that it has remained dry.  The sun has been a bonus.

All that said, I wonder how the farmers feel.  Many have harvested their crops and I've seen a number of newly-ploughed fields, maybe with new crops.  Several irrigation systems have been turned on as well.  What on earth is going on with our seasons ... ?

On Wednesdays, I have my second year students only.  Today, they had their first exams and I'll probably spend the weekend correcting them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.