Northumberland Life

By northumberland

Changing of the Colour

Fiercly proud of this my country of birth, we are constantly reminded that we sleep next to the giant. 90% of us live within 100 kilometers of the Canada/US boarder. My father would never fly a Scottish Flag at our summer cottage in the Trent Hills. He always said that, "We are Canadian first and proud of our heritage'. He felt that part of the issue with Canada and the provence of Quebec was that many in Quebec were 'french' first and Canadian second.
For years I have proudly flown the Canadian Maple Leaf atop the entrance to Cramahe House as a gesture to passers by of my commitment to my country of birth. Today I have changed the flag to the Scottish Lion Rampant as a grateful nod to my wonderful heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.