Awaiting the Mandolins...

Today we went to a concert by the Hamburg Mandolin Orchestra. It was wonderful! Such beautiful classical bowl back mandolins. I am trying to learn to play (mine's a flat back but also beautiful!) and can't imagine how they manage it. I spent an hour this afternoon trying to tune mine up with an electronic tuner and was panicking at one point thinking 'I can't do it and don't have anyone to ask and won't be able to start on any of my book exercises', when the g string , which was reading as f no matter what I did, suddenly came up on my tuner as G! Good job I've got the tuner as I'd no idea what g should sound like. I was so relieved that I was doing it right, and went on to successfully tune all four pairs of strings - so it's good to go... Next session tomorrow as I now have a stiff neck! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.