TexMama

By TexMama

Hamilton building

This is one of my favourite buildings in the downtown area because of it's beautiful decorative top windows...so being as we were going to be in the area today I decided it would be a great blip. I couldn't get the shot I wanted from the front of the building so I guess I"ll have to save that for another time.

Here's some info. I dug up on this historic building:

Built in 1927 by Mr W.B. Hamilton
It has 12.5 floors (the top floor being almost 2 stories high) and is 175ft tall.
The building is concrete with a brick facade, built in a horseshoe shape.
Art Deco. style with tile decorations and Indian heads along the roofline (I will try to shoot these next time I'm there)...if you look at the top of the building on the front face (right side of the photo) you can see the 4 heads sitting up there, although you can't tell what they are in this shot.
The ballroom at the top used to be a lounge and dance floor for an exclusive club and can still be rented today. The adjacent library room, with it's stone fireplace, was once used by the city's elite business people for meetings and small social gatherings.

(the wire running right across my pic was an unfortunate problem that I couldn't get around this time, sorry)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.