FINALLY!!!!

That's what I thought for a fraction of a second when this young deer came running out of the woods as if he/she had been waiting ages just for me to arrive. My troubles and worries were gone and all I felt in that one heartbeat and sharp intake of surprise was pure joy and what ran through my head before I had time to think was "I have been waiting my whole life for this to happen." And then of course the inevitable conclusion - the deer saw me and froze and then after a few moments it turned around to join one of its parents, who gave me a snort and a bad look and then turned and left with baby close behind.
And so I learned something today: I am so much lamer than I ever suspected. And now it is also very likely that there is a family of deer out there laughing at me and saying, "did you see her face when she thought you were running up to see her - best one ever!!!"
True story. Sad, but true.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.