Runhills

By Runhills

Spitfire

Apologies first of all for the quality of the picture, I was so busy having a look at this plane and chatting that I - a) didn't take many pictures and b) didn't check the quality!!

I suspect Young1 will come up with something better in a day or two, I heard her clicking away in the background as I was talking.

This is the fuselage of a reconstruction of the "lytham St Annes Spitfire". The original was bought with donations raised by the people of the town in 1941.

The plane was shot down over France and was lost together with it's pilot 20-year-old Sgt Alan Leaver-Ridings.

The plane is going to be mounted on a plinth at Fairhaven Lake and unveiled on 19th August as part of the Lytham Wartime Weekend.

Some more details about it here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.