Simply Me

By Suze981

Hunter's Bog

It's been a while since I've posted a running blip, so I thought I'd take one tonight from my evening hill run.

I tried a different route tonight actually running up the Arthur's Seat side rather than the Crags side of the hill. You get some cracking views from over here. I loved the foxgloves (I think that's what they are) in the foreground over the backdrop of Hunter's Bog, Leith and then Fife across the water.

I wondered why it was named Hunter's Bog and so googled it on my return. Apparently John Huntar was the Treasurer of the Canongait and Keeper of the Park between 1566-67. Mary, Queen of Scots, granted him a 19 year lease of this area in return for draining the King's Meadow (Dynamic Earth). So, in return for draining a bog, John Huntar was granted...a bog! (this excerpt is taken from the historic Scotland site)

I'm meeting my friend, Keri, for tea later so I best go and get ready. Hope everyone is having a good Monday!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.