Quince

Today's the day ................................ for my turn

Yesterday it was Will's green tomato chutney, today - it's my quince jelly.

Or at least, it's the first stage of quince jelly because you have to leave the mush overnight dripping through a muslin bag - and then tomorrow, it will be the actual jelly-making.  But, at least, I have got through the disastrous stage as recorded in my blip here - so that's a blessing.

Actually, quinces are altogether a blessing.  We never bought the original quince plants with any idea that they would be productive.  We planted them for their pretty spring blossom and the hope that they would provide a bit of shelter round a bit of the garden where we often sit out.  This year they have produced 7lbs of quinces like the one above.  I think it must be a good year for them.

The one above is probably two inches across - and looked like this before I picked it.  They are very hard when you split them open - with loads of pips - but I'm really hoping that they are going to produce in due course some really delicious, delicately pink-coloured, quince jelly ..........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.