Kardimomma

By Kardimomma

Glyndbourne!

Went to see Madame Butterfly tonight at Glyndebourne. It was superb. The music was gorgeous, the singing astounding and the plot holes gaping, all in the best operatic tradition.

I went on a spare ticket, a friend's wife is working abroad now, which wasn't known at the time of booking. Instead, I paid for a Waitrose picnic.

The tradition at Glyndbourne is that people arrive early and have a picnic. In the gardens in summer, in the specially dedicated indoor picnic area in winter. And my, is it competitive! People arrive with full on hampers, proper crockery and glassware, tablecloths and so on. As I passed by, I told people sitting at one picnic table, all decked out and including lit candles in silver candlesticks that they were the winners ;-), only to have them manage to look disdainfully down their noses at me, even though they were sitting and I was standing! Quite impressive really.

Still, my party were all perfectly lovely and I had a grand time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.