Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

In a vale of fantasy...

In the grip of a totally real day, while I sat down by the river thinking silly thoughts relaxing before work, I smiled to myself. When I was a child I would sit and hum songs to myself, think of magic and mystery and live in the world in my head. I was a somewhat solitary thing and did not need the company of others to play, my imagination could bring me into worlds so real and full that there was no space for real companions.

Strange lands and wild forests I could conjure forth with the slightest ease, full of colour and life. Magic and the Humdrum lived side by side. American Indians and secret realm Elves sat around camp fires as we conversed in mystical tongues. Strange creatures in wondrous fur and plumage watch from hidden sanctuaries as we sang songs of heroism and loves lost.

In a world where we strive for more and settle for less, in a world too real and yet so full of wonder, where we are capable of so much and see so little in ourselves...maybe some fantasy is not a bad thing......a dream...or two...wouldn't go amiss!

So, forgive a man for dreaming beside a riverbank......for the dream I dream is of better things, where we strive for less and gain more, to have a smile on our faces and the frowns gone from our brows, to have happiness in our hearts and peace on our minds.....a dream of heroism and wonder.

Soft old fool...... but happily dreaming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.