Mr John

By MrJohn

Now, there's something you dont see.....

..... every day !

After work this evening I went on the second Monday night unoffical Ilkley harriers bike tootle. There were only four of us this evening, Myself, Keith, Sheena and Linda. I was the only one not on a road bike ( I think I may need to buy myself one at some point, after the DSLR of course ).

We decided to go a bit further than last week and agreed on Barden. The route has a lot of hills, but that's half the fun. Sheena always shouts out 'Weeeeeeeeeee' on the downhills :-).

At the Cavendish Pavilion near Bolton Abbey there was a man looking a bit lost, so we stopped to see if he was ok and it turned out he was visiting the area and had lost his car keys on a walk. I loaned him my mobile, but he couldnt remember the number of the friends he was staying with so he called a cab thanked me and we continued our journey ( whilst keeping an eye out for car keys on the route ).

After the climb up to barden we headed back. I had to stop sharply when out of the corner of my eye I saw a lion drinking a bottle of beer leaning against a wall next to a ruined building. I assume there must have been a fancy dress party going on, or maybe a production of the wizard of Oz or the Lion the witch and the wardrobe ( I didn't see any witches ).

When I returned home there were eight missed calls and a message ( with lots of swearing ) from the cab firm on my mobile ( I have it switched to silent and cant feel it vibrate in my cycling bum bag ). Apparently they couldn't find the chap who had lost his keys and he hadn't mentioned to them that he had borrowed someone elses phone to call them, so they assumed it was a prank call. I expect he's still waiting for that cab :-/.

Oh well, It's been a slightly surreal evening one way or another, so today's blip is.....


..... Now, there's something you dont see every day !


Large Lion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.