WeeDragon

By WeeDragon

Same but Last... for now

Scottish Mental Health Week

Last day in raising awareness week, but I hope it's not the last time until this time next year that folk discuss issues of mental health.

Food Sharing - a few personal stories

Sharing food can be a way of connecting with people who are isolated and unwell. A close friend brings a filled roll and a cake if I'm really struggling with the day. We don't need to talk about what took me to that difficult day, but share some time together.

Many years ago, I used to sit outside my GP's not knowing what to do, how to ask for further help and they didn't know how to offer further help. Sometime later, it was clear that it was an illusion as a 'safe' place to sit.

One day, Peter - the Lollypop Man, who knew me and Dad for many years, got the staff of the church next to the GP's to ask me not to sit outside but to join him for soup and a roll. The first couple of weeks I joined in for free. Then I made sure I had enough money to pay and then later painted the church toilets in exchange for the help I was offered. I dropped in now and again to have soup with Peter or to the local cafe where he would go if the church cafe wasn't open.

My neighbour, when my brother passed, brought me an ashette of soup for two days. That was so good practical help that I just needed to get me thru the first few days.

On a grief course, tea and practical topics to help changes in circumstances. One elderly lady said that she had stopped going to her usual events in her church that she attended before her husband passed as she was getting distressed by people asking 'How are you?' and felt awkward and worried about falling apart. And this lady said that she would like everyone to say 'Good to see you'. And that way it was up to herself to say in further conversation how things were.

I always have mushroom soup on my shelf as it is like a comfort food for me. Many / most times it has been too difficult to talk or explain what's up. Most people know their close friends well enough that if the answer to 'Are you okay?' Is 'Fine!' Then that is all they want to say, but may say later on further into conversation.

#endstigma and misinformation about mental health issues and #powerofokay  - it's okay to ask and it's okay to talk about mental health just as you would talk about any physical illness or disability.

Only ask if you have the time and non-judgemental to listen, it can be picked up quite quickly if opening up about how you really are and it obviously appears that the other person wished they hadn't asked.

If you have a friend that is going thru a difficult time and it's too difficult to talk about things, ask if they wish to meet up for tea and scone. They might not feel able to go out to a cafe, so say you'll take a flask and meet at a local gardens or park for a walk.

Good to see you visiting my 7 day project with the wee fella :-)))

Thank You

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.