A Handmade's Tale

Chapter 1: Slow photography.
A mate recently noted that he thought that slow photography was his preferred approach. I've increasingly been thinking along the same lines.

Yet again, the Foss project (plus chatting with Dorothy Bohm) was the catalyst. I've long toyed with the idea of going old school and preparing some sort of photo book by hand.
 
I researched lots of albums, blank books and eventually went to the shop (that's old school for starters) and perused the options. Chose what I thought might work - size, paper quality and weight, number of pages etc.
 
Carefully selected my favourite 25 images from the 50 I'd selected to show at the Foss Society. Bit of Lightroom re-touching, but not much. After further investigation of how I would print the images I decided eventually to get them lab processed – way superior to ink-jet. Actually not large prints, but 7x5 mounted with lots of nice creamy space around them in the final lay-out.
 
A whole afternoon sorting the images’ order and carefully mounting each one, one per page. Spent quite a bit of enjoyable time designing and getting the graphics right for the book cover. [Extra]
 
Chapter 2: Hand-made Books
Off to a day course at the week-end on book-binding at Leeds College of Art. Rubbing shoulders with Dame Barbara Hepworth, Damian Hirst, Henry Moore and many others. In my dreams...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.