Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Otters

Still playing hookey and loving it we sauntered down towards the River Yealm estuary past a beautiful lake. We spotted the quiver of turquoise through the bushes lining the lakeside but the kingfisher must have done likewise with us and darted, scooting to the opposite shore to join the egrets and herons.

Immersed in our kingfisher hunt I was suddenly startled by a squeal of excitement from Simon, 'Otter!' I had actually clocked it but thought it was a diving duck at first glance! Not just one but two kits following their mum paddling up the lake towards the other bank.- we were transfixed! Never big on otters, suddenly I was transformed into Simon King of Springwatch - ooing and aahing - if only my camera skills had been even half as good! They paddled in single file along the edge of the reeds, diving and blowing bubbles - a truly magical experience! I was never going to get a great shot, they were too far away but thought I should to blip something of the event!

Best seen larger to see otters

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.