Back In the Day

This is a back blip of yesterday's shot. I subbed for the guy on the left, my best buddy Mac. On his lesson plans for me, he left this photo of us that was taken in either 1989 or 1990, the first year we coached together at Central High School in Independence, Oregon. That's me in the middle holding the clipboard, and our buddy and head coach at the time, Terry holding the little boy on his knee. This team won the state championship that year, the third in a row at that time. What a run we had, and what a great time for the three of us. Our son Josh was on this team, a real bonus.

The sad part of this photo is that the young boy on Terry's knee, Gavin, passed away about seven years ago. He was 19 I think, when he died of lymphoma, a sad, sad experience for Terry, his wife Norine, and their other two sons.

The three of us stay in close contact - I texted Mac this morning, and Terry and I texted during last night's Oregon football game. I am the only one foolish enough to still be coaching basketball, but the other two support me with funny words of encouragement along the way. 

Great memories. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.