My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Wenlock world

With the Closing Ceremony looming tomorrow I decided to try and make use of my accreditation passes and see if I could get into the Park one last time. As I headed to security I was really nervous I would get turned away but my badge was scanned and I was waved off to have my bags checked and then straight in. I couldn't quite believe it but was just sad I couldn't take Matt with me. I'd already spent a lot of time in the Park during rehearsals for the Opening Ceremony but that was before it was open to the public. It had such a different atmosphere and it was heaving with people. I headed straight to the Megastore to see what was on offer. There was a huge queue and it felt like a first day of sale with everyone grabbing everything. I ended up buying a couple of Wenlocks, a t-shirt for Matt and a pin badge. I had wanted to get a couple of Closing Ceremony badges as my friend Andrew had got me the Opening one and I wanted to return the favour but they had none in stock.

I then walked through the Park and down towards the river just in time to get a seat in the Park Live area to watch Mo running the 5000m race. The area around the huge screens was packed and showing a sea of Union Jacks. When he crossed the line to win his second gold the crowd erupted hugging and screaming. It was a fantastic place to be to see such a historic moment.

I continued my walk to see the athletes village and then back to the Stadium. Finished with a quick shopping visit to Westfield to stock up on some bits before the big day tomorrow.


Olympic Megastore, Olympic Park, Stratford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.