One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Deja Vu

Yesterday lunchtime I received a most unexpected (and unwanted) phone call. I very nearly didn't answer as it came up as a private number.

It was the Cardiology department of my local hospital, the consultant (the head of the department) wanted to see me on Thursday, and I was also told that he had said that I was not to drive until he had seen me.

A little awkward as I has driven to work for the first time in 6 months. After 5 days and less than 50 miles of driving, I was off the road again. Fortunately, my son was willing to come down to London (by train) to collect me and the car, and then drive me home.

I have no idea why he wants to see me again so soon, I have had appointments for a 24hour ECG in 6 months time and one for a 12 month review come through already, this one came as a bolt out of the blue after having been given as close to an all clear as I was likely to get.

So, this morning it was back on the train. Having surrendered my season ticket last week for a refund I had to buy a ticket. The machine failed to issue the ticket so I had to queue at the ticket office to sort it out. I missed my train. I then had to wait almost half an hour for the next train.

The image is an emergency blip that I had lined up but never used. A pub near the station, which used to be called the Well, changed its name. They had the name on 2 windows and this sign. A few weeks ago they changed it back to the Well, but the sign is still there.

It summed up how I felt, been here before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.