Criss-Cross

This is the view looking West from 47th Street, where I slipped my camera between a steel barrier and a chain link fence to aim it at the tracks. Ahead is one of the Woodland Avenue trolleys crossing over the regional line to Elwyn. It's a niche that isn't looked at much, except when one is using the railroad. I only notice it at the end of a day when the light treats it best. Here it's wet from some rain that came down about half an hour earlier.

A few weeks ago I took the same shot at a slightly later hour and almost blipped it, so tonight after a long day I happened to be there again. Here it is --with an old verse that comes to mind:

While riding on a train goin' west
I fell asleep for to take my rest
I dreamed a dream that made me sad
Concerning myself and the first few friends I had

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.