Friday: Whiffin Spit

I have taken a day's leave today and we have stayed on in Victoria for the weekend. It was a beautiful day so we took The Beast for a drive and headed to the southern coast of the island - stopping off in Whiffin Spit, French Beach and Jordan River. The scenery is fantastic - it's amazing to think how big this island actually is, we can only see a very small part of it.

Back in town this afternoon we stumbled across two Nirvanas - Russell Books, the biggest second bookstore I have ever seen and the famous Munro's bookstore - Alice Munro used to run it, now it's run by her ex-husband, Jim. We'll be back in both tomorrow.

Then some flights at 'Drake's' - very nice and our barman came from K's neck of the woods in Liverpool, followed by dinner at 'Swan's' - it was alright but I misread the description of my meal and didn't realise it contained celery. I will eat anything but despise celery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.