Diver Driver

By diverdriver

Memories.

I spent an evening wandering around Leicester city centre, re-living memories from years ago.

Leicester, when we were children living in Aberdeen, always seemed so dark when we visited grandparents. This was due to Aberdeen being the city of granite and Leicester was all dark red brick.

The city has changed so much since the last time I was there, unsurprisingly, but there were so many sites which brought back happy memories So I've listed them for my old dad. Hope he enjoys them as much as I did.

Saturday mornings, on the few occasions we visited, always meant a trip with grandad on the bus to Leicester Market, to get the groceries for the weekend. So many sights, smells and sounds re-kindled.

And Fenwicks, where my grandmother had worked for many years, seemed much smaller than it did back then.

The John Lewis tower no longer belongs to John Lewis.

And a few other sights as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.