Flowing On

Water rushing through
Navigates between two lakes
Onward to the sea

This is what you find at the end of another road leading directly to Lake Rotorua, the Ohau Channel.  I don't know why the gates are there.  The channel links Lake Rotorua and Lake Rotoiti.  It is navigable by boat and is used by fly fishermen.  On the far bank is an apartment style resort. I did met a young fisherman as I was walking back to the car.  From Lake Rotoiti the waters of Lake Rotorua flow to the Kaituna River and into the Pacific Ocean at Maketu.  The Arawa canoe landed at Maketu and Ihenga traveled up the Kaituna and discovered Lake Rotoiti first and then Lake Rotorua.  Roto means lake.  Rotoiti is small lake and Rotorua is second lake.  rua means two.
More decluttering this afternoon.  I have weakened and kept the baby toys I found in a box and the wooden dolls house.  I think I loved that dolls house more than my daughter did. With the little furniture it could come in handy for Tiny Tuesday :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.