STONECHAT

I woke with a headache this morning and needed not to be stuck in front of a screen all day, so headed out to look for birds. RSPB was very busy with elderly (i.e. even older than me) birders with ginormous kick-ass cameras and lenses so I avoided the hides where they were all shouting at each other (they all seemed to be hard of hearing) and frightening the birds away, and wandered up and down the trails for an hour. I'm sure their cameras would have got a much fancier photo of the stonechats than I did, but then I'm sure the stonechats would have heard them coming and flown away!

The headache is mostly gone - I think it came from sitting behind the kettledrums and brass of a military band during our concert last night. The band and the choir were onstage for the duration, and even with earplugs it was pretty loud! Enjoyable though. We do it all over again in Durham Cathedral in ten days' time so I think I'd better get some better earplugs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.