MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Blue Sky over a seagull

I think this is a Herring Gull, but I might be wrong.
It is a long time since I last did a blue sky over shot, I liked this one as soon as I saw it. I had a trip to Brighton this morning and the route back took me via Shoreham, I stopped to take some photos of the fishing boats. I was going to buy some fish but I was too late. It was windy and there were a lot of gulls on the beach, I got a few shot of them when I saw some more coming into land. In the wind they just seemed to hover. I think I was standing in his spot. Large looks good.
Shoreham Beach is to the south of the town; it is a shingle bank thrown up over the centuries by the sea through the process of longshore drift. This blocks the southerly flow of the River Adur which turns east at this point to meet the English Channel further along the coast at a point that has varied considerably over time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.