The old and new

As i left the house yesterday it felt as if in some way I was also at my own death - the house empty and echoing, the sun streaming in, the varnished floors unencumbered with our things and shadows. As if I had done a house clearance on my own life.

I don't mean to be melodramatic but there was a mournfulness to it and a brutality to the long-awaited but final departure.

I slept fitfully in the flat in Edinburgh after my labours but I was free of all those nagging worries and ridiculous lists of things to do. And I did feel just a little bit relieved that I didn't have to think about selling and issues and things that might stop the sale.

The Principal is still down in London with a long day of teaching and meetings. I've been sorting the stuff that couldn't or wouldn't go into store for Italy.

And we're really pretty lucky that the great big lorry is not about to turn up and leave us with all our gear. We can leave that until phase 4 in Italy.

Many thanks for all your kind messages of support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.