usp

By usp

Bright November morning - pc-p 04

postcard: Lismore
poem: Fady Joudah (2013) - Mimesis

My daughter
wouldn’t hurt a spider
That had nested
Between her bicycle handles
For two weeks
She waited
Until it left of its own accord

If you tear down the web I said
It will simply know
This isn’t a place to call home
And you’d get to go biking

She said that’s how others
Become refugees isn’t it?

This poem went to a schoolfriend of mine who was/is actively involved in helping refugees in Germany. I was in two minds whether to send it there or rather to someone else, because I've recently become aware of what's called the echo chamber effect in media discourse, where especially on social media "what we believe is constantly reinforced by people who believe the same thing". But then I thought, maybe I can also send it to simply say "I heard you. I take notice."

The postcard was bought on Lismore, a small Scottish island a short ferry ride north-west of Oban. We had wanted to go to Mull, but couldn't get a space on the ferry for the car, so we asked "Good man, where else can we sail to today?"

NaPoWriMo - my version of it; sending a postcard-poem each day of November. Here is the how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.