2555

I nearly didn't post this today- I knew I was at 2554 I had a plan for her 2555, with a giant 7 balloon and a sunset and countryside. And a proper camera. But I couldn't get all of that today, so I almost held off posting this til I had something for her 2555. However, what I could get was a quiet 20 minutes with my girl, and balletbaby, enjoying after-school ice cream as the sunset, sat beside a beautiful lavender bush (one of her favourite plants) in a peaceful garden that we love. She felt rotten yesterday, and the nights before that too, so happy, calm and special captured on an iPhone seemed good to me. And seemed fairly representative of something very precious about blip. That savouring a moment that would likely get lost in the passing of time. That pausing at the end of the day to think "what do I want to remember and hold forever about today?" That having somewhere to come and put those things. For seven years.

Anyway... today. After last night's hideousness, she coughed/cried herself to sleep on the way home from dance. She didn't even make it out of her dance stuff. I put her straight to bed and she actually slept through the entire night, only coughing in her sleep a few times. She was bouncy and awake at 545 and declared herself "badish-ok". A horizontal thumb in that time-honoured system of measurement. I had decided today to give her a day off so she could fight the croup & just relax but Friday is usually class music lesson, singing club and orchestra plus it was school Enterprise Day. So she wanted to go. I agreed but told the teacher I didn't want any efforts at heroics, that any shred of doubt I wanted her to come home. She's never had a sick day, I don't do it lightly!

Anyway, she made it through the day. Her year were looking at marketing and advertising - they designed packaging for the soup they had designed a couple of weeks ago. She was disappointed to not have class music and for there to be no singing club but liked playing Christmas songs in orchestra.

I met her from school with the baby and suggested we stop for ice cream at a place we pass daily but haven't been in. It was jolly expensive and she declared her caramel and homegrown apple ice cream to be "not the best ice cream I have ever had". But the sprinkles she liked!

Her and balletbaby are currently in Katie's bedroom. Katie is in a ballet dress, dancing. The baby is observing I think! Early bed for both tonight. Last proper exam class tomorrow before ballet exams next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.