A Day At A Time.

By ElCid

Shattered

The strange effects at the top of this image are due to the light refracting through my shattered UV filter.

I managed to drop my camera on the concrete a few moments before and the front of the lens took the brunt of the fall. The filter was fragmented and the rim of the lens bent so that the filter could not be removed.

So there was nothing for it but to shoot the image anyway. Soon afterwards the sky had changed to a dull blue and of course the sailing boat was long gone.

It serves to remind me of the dangers of trying to put a collar on a dog while my camera is slung over my shoulder.

The glass of the filter has been removed, but the housing refuses to budge as it is bent out of shape and will not turn. But at least the camera is functional and no more damage seems to have occurred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.