Shetland Family Tree

I love reading and always carefully plan what my next book will be.  So after finishing my last book on Friday, I settled down to start the next book on Saturday afternoon.  It is a book dated 1889 and is from our Shetland family collection.  It is entitled  'The Home of a Naturalist', and is about a famous doctor and naturalist who lived on the island of Unst called Laurence Edmonston.
I was expecting it to be a dreary read but it is informative, beautifully written and puts in places many stories I heard through my childhood from Shetland ralatives.  It has sent me searching through the family tree which is also in the photo, and I can't wait to read some more.
Interestingly the home of the naturalist called 'Halligarth' is seeking funding for restoration, and the National Trust are running a very interesting historical blog about it-including photos of relatives as children outside Halligarth, who I knew well as adults.
The extra is a plate from the book of Baltasound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.