Slice of my Life

By spcooke

Yellow Hollyhocks Story

I must confess today the story of my beloved yellow hollyhocks. When I was walking around my neighborhood, I spied this lovely yellow hollyhock that was growing on the street side of a very tall wooden fence--the kind you can't see through! I coveted those yellow hollyhocks, so I watched until the seed pods were ready to burst, and I quietly walked across the street and deposited some seeds in my ever-present hankie! I debated many times if I should ask, but I decided if they were growing on the street they were free for the picking. For several years I harvested seeds, threw them into my "hollyhock nursery", and now I have about 8 plants of yellow hollyhocks. I love them!

(The mother plant has since died, and now I am very happy that I harvested the seeds, and hope anyone who wants some of my seeds takes them!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.