Winslow Arboretum

Winslow is a small market town in Buckinghamshire. I worked in the secondary school here for seven years right at the beginning of my teaching career so I know the place quite well. 

I came here this morning to meet my friend Sally for coffee. On our way from the car park to the cafe is an opening on to a park we hadn't noticed before. It had a sign which said "Tomkins Park - Winslow Arboretum". Winslow has an arboretum? who knew?

It looked like a park with some trees round the edge. When I got home I discovered that the arboretum had been opened earlier this year on a patch of ground near the centre of the town - "A collection of specimen trees grow within the site and a recent survey described them as an arboretum of regional status. Among the many superb trees is a Laurel Leafed Oak which is the only one known to be in Buckinghamshire".


I will be sure to look for that laurel leafed oak next time I visit the town.

Extra - St Lawrence's Church, Winslow.

BTW I was playing with some art filters I found in my Sony RX100. This is the HDR setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.