Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Election Day

Black and White.  (Not really.)  I’m so glad I had my comfortable book club this afternoon—- who would guess we could be sitting outside in shirt sleeves on this fine November day….there is so much tension in the air all around….it was great to focus on a catch up of everyone’s lives and the book : The Door by Hungarian Magda Szabo,written in 1987 but translated in 1995.   Mesmerizing really.  Partly autobiographical.   About 2 women in Budapest, in the 60s, one an eccentric 80 year old anti intellectual, illiterate  “peasant” who was a housecleaner and one of her employers, a younger intellectual “writer lady”   and their very bizarre love/hate relationship with each other.   iI’s a bit of a mystery with unclear answers but such a treatise about human friendship…it was a page turner for me, but I think now I have to read it again. 


And I haven’t yet turned on the TV, but I’m about to.   :-)   (6pm) I hate all that talking...  Most of the 8 of us today agreed they didn’t feel like any party tonight as even if we “win” which I'm very hopeful will result in our first woman president. who knows what tomorrow will bring.   More then.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.