Jack James

By JackJames

The Institute

I'm not doing very well at taking quality photos... This is all I got from what turned out to be an incredible day at the fringe, but I guess that when you're enjoying yourself that much taking photos for an online blog that only 9 people are going to see isn't to far up on your list.

Anywhoo, first thing I went off to see the play that my mate Kate had written, The Institute, which was billed as 'an experimental play about mental illness'. Anyone who knows what free fringe shows can be like will recognise my slight apprehension, and I perhaps wouldn't have gone if I didn't know Kate - but it was really good, with some dark comic turns and great one liners. Went back to the flat that Kate and the cast have rented (very nice, very posh!) and then caught lunch with Kate in the nearby park. Saw Phil Jupitus walk past, got to love the fringe.

Kate went to catch her flight back to Cardiff where she's spending 24 hours to take an exam, and I went to meet Marek and the geordies to see some free things. Turned out to be some of the best comedy I've seen, though the subject perhaps shouldn't have been - sex tourism and shooting at children.

Fell asleep at 8. Ouch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.