Improvising in the country

While is rained outside I had a session in the kitchen. This is a 'Hot smoked salmon, leek and potato pie'. I always intended substituting smoked salmon for smoked trout because I have plenty.

At home I can nip to the supermarket and back, a mere 2km round trip. Here it's 20 something km's, or somewhere around 9 or 10km to a 4 Square (a mini supermarket in West Melton that opened last week).

So, kumara replaced potato and a mix of brown and red onion replaced the leek.  I used the first preserved lemon I made from lemons Dad sent me a while ago. Dinner is sorted :-)

The funny bit is I did need to drive to the 4 Square store later on. As I drove past my neighbours I noticed they have a huge garden of leeks. I'm sure they'd have gladly donated one to me. The 4 Square sells them too.

Yesterday I forgot to acknowledge something positive. I've edited yesterday's and remembered today's.

Day 4 positive: I feel settled in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.