By Himself

By Himself

Peakeen Ridge

I walked the Peakeen Ridge, 6km (3.7 miles) going westwards along the spine of the Sheep's Head Peninsular. Not so far in distance as the crow flies, but relatively challenging with several steep ascents and descents and some slippery conditions after yesterday's rain. 
Blustery rain squalls were rolling in and a heavy one caught me just after I started, so I had to seek shelter behind an outcrop to wrestle on my overtrousers and shell jacket in the north westerly wind.
There was a group of wild goats along the way supervised by a large male with impressive quadruple horns.

The photo shows the ridge in the background, looking back from the final descent, with a stub of a rainbow just visible and recent gorse burning in the foreground. The path descends from the top of the peak near the centre of the image.  
I have added an extra looking down over Kilcrohane village with the Ardahill ring fort at the top of the green fields catching some sun and Farranamanagh Lake with its causeway just above and to the left of it on the coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.