Kitchen Cove; 15.36; 12.11.16

Absolutely spoilt for choice today so there are a few extras. After the relentlessness rain of yesterday (I think it's gone towards Britain!) the sun appeared and it was gorgeous. We headed out. Actually we went separate ways - Himself up high on the Peakeen Ridge and me up high and then very low on the south side, yes well hunting. I dropped him off near the Pieta then continued towards the end. First excitement a family of whooper swans doing their thing in the lough: two adults and four large cygnets, fresh in from Iceland. I was worried that one of the adults looked in poor shape but it looked in better condition on my return.  I parked at the end then clambered up high towards the signal tower - astonishing views and very windy.
My instructions for this well were : head down south from the signal tower, follow the field boundary. It will be a bit scrambly.

Well the head down bit went on for ages and involved climbing over a barbed wire fence, skidding down on my bum, startling sheep until I arrived at a small ruined settlement. About six cabins clinging onto the edge, their little fields still discernible amongst the bracken. The head down bit seemed to continue for another good steep mile right down to the sea and the going was getting tough. I had a little wander through the ruins, sheltered in the doorway as some rain passed overhead and ate a pear. I decided I needed more information to find this well and contemplated the scramble back up. Son#1 if you are reading, you'd have been impressed - hardcore rock climbing going on!!
Exhilarating. So much beauty.


A quick trip down to the Kitchen, looking all coppery, but there is something missing ......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.