Kath's Journal

By Kathb

If you don't ask, you will never know.

I couldn't help wondering what this man was doing, and when curiosity eventually got the better of me, I went to the top of the jetty and shouted down to him. [ Couldn't get across the mud without wellies. ] He kindly came up to meet me. He explained that he is a bass fisherman and that he was collecting small crabs for bait.

At this time of the year, the crabs are molting and so hide in the nooks and crevices of the jetty for protection. They are good for bait because the new shells are soft. He invited me to handle one but I declined the offer.

His bucket was only half full. He told me that there are not as many about - they don't like fresh water. I don't like all this rain either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.