Puke

By Puke

La Alhambra

Dale limosna, mujer, que no hay en la vida nada como la pena de ser ciego en Granada.”
“Give him an offering, my lady, for there is not greater tragedy than that of the blind man in Granada.”

So goes the famous quote, allegedly said to a woman passing a beggar in the street in Granada. The beauty and truth of the phrase encapsulates everything about this majestic city, what was once the final bastion of Islam in Spain, leaving behind a true wonder of the world – La Alhambra.

I would like to change the wording slightly to: "There is no greater tragedy than to be a man without a camera in Granada and especially the Alhambra." Unfortunately, tragedy struck yesterday evening as I attempted to blip a scene just as we were getting home late yesterday evening having had a great meal. I dropped my camera and it landed with a thwack on the stone pavement. When I tried to operate the zoom, an error message now comes up 'zoom system error' and the camera appears dead. Not my finest hour. We were booked in to see the Alhambra today, which I hadn't seen for about 30 years. It is arguably one of the finest demonstrations of human endeavour i have ever seen. Utterly jaw dropping. I must have taken a 1000 blips in my minds eye! Oh well. Another day perhaps! Today's blip was backdated from yesterday since I was fortunate to have at least one day of photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.