tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Apples of the sun?

This is a sight that says the summer's almost over, every year. The Discovery apples are early to ripen and fall readily on to the grass beneath the tree. I pick up as many as I can each time I pass and put them on the garden table for people, birds and wasps to help themselves. This year the strong winds of the past few days have brought down most of the crop but I have yet to see a wasp. These apples don't keep for long especially in the wet weather so tomorrow I'll take a bagful to the Farmers' Market swap shop.

The Greek key pattern on the back of the garden chairs is also known as the meander pattern after a winding Turkish river of that name. The wild ancestors of our cultivated apples grew in an arc stretching from Asia Minor (Turkey) across to China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.