Definitely Visible

By allieballie

Landed his catch

Another Tuesday afternoon, another cover for the same class that I had a fortnight ago. I had pretty much anticipated this would happen today though, given that their teacher was absent yesterday too.

Mark in the library had previously asked me if I wanted to take a group out to help him look for local war graves for a display that the rector had asked him to do. I told him that if I was made to take this class today then I would let him know and we could take them out to do that. And so he was contacted!

He had a list of which cemeteries and graveyards had war graves and he wanted us to look in Abbotshall Churchyard first. The pupils were brilliant when we were out. A and C had a comic moment when they spotted a small stone that was obscured by the lower part of a yew tree. They both got down on their hands and knees and crawled in to get closer so that they could read the name. What did they find at that low level? It was a man whose surname was "Short". The two of them found this hilarious. However, my favourite stone was this one - spotted by Mark. The Hunter had captured his Whale!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.