Sad Day

Leonard has been part of my life for almost 50 years. 
I first saw Leonard Cohen in the Isle of Wight in 1969 or 1970. John Peel had been championing his music and I was totally hooked. The first record I bought was Songs from a Room , purchased months before I even owned a record player. I moved to London and this was played endlessly, it being the only record I possessed.
Over the years my taste for Leonards music was very solitary, many knew of it but no one joined me. I assumed I was the only follower he had in this country.
I was lucky enough to get tickets for 2008 Glastonbury and delighted to see that Leonard Cohen was on the bill, I assumed on one of the little known far out stages. I was surprised to see he was on the Pyramid stage and utterly bewildered that I was surrounded by others awaiting his appearance. I was with tens of thousands of fans that were enthralled by this 75 year old man and his songs and all of whom, like me, knew the words. Very memorable and very emotional.
That same year I saw him again in the O2 and later at Brooklands Race track in Surrey, each time a special occasion. The blip is a reprint of my entry of 13th November 2008 from row 5 in the O2.
2016 has been a very bad year for music, a lot of good people have died, none greater than Leonard Cohen
RIP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.