Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

5th Anniversary

I guess it's not particularly original to blip your wedding rings on your anniversary, but who cares! When it comes to being in love, it doesn't matter if you're a cliché as long as you're happy.

These heart shaped sugar-coated chocolate wedding favours are the same age as my marriage! I wouldn't recommend eating them, but I do have to hide them from my awesome husband Simon because his eyes light up whenever I say the word 'chocolate'.

Seeing the favours brings back so many memories from the day itself. My dad becoming tearful as he had a heart to heart with me before the ceremony; the look of love on my sweetheart's face as I saw him waiting for me at the altar; my family's tears of joy as I walked down the aisle; the dream-like journey to the reception venue with my love holding my hand; the delicate sound of rain on canvas as the speeches began. It was a beautiful day and I loved every minute of it. There are people I love who couldn't be there that day, and some of those who shared it with us are no longer here to celebrate our continuing happiness with us. I miss them all terribly.

It's about time for us to open a bottle of plonk to celebrate - cheers, everyone in Blipland!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.