Stacked and Ready!

Dear Diary,

Matt came yesterday and got the last of the wood stacked in the basement of the barn and the last few fall chores done.  Emerson and I are now ready for winter!  I had a fire in the wood stove last night, first of the season, although it wasn't very cold out.  Just an inaugural burn.

I had the well company come out to check the water depth too.  So many people have lost their wells this fall I was a bit concerned.  The wonderful news is I have an excellent water level since it is a very deep drilled well, over 200 feet, and I tap into a strong aquifer here.  That is one worry I can stop worrying about!

I will be going back to New Hampshire this afternoon for an early Thanksgiving dinner with some of my cousins and I will spend the night there.  I need a little break.  I got a lot of presents wrapped yesterday so it will be nice to spend an evening with my wonderful cousins reminiscing about Thanksgivings past.  For me, there was the high school football game in the morning, Hudson vs Marlboro, and a long afternoon of feasting with family usually with a smattering of cousins thrown in for good measure.  In the early days, children ate separately at their own table.  That was fun.  Not so much fun when we grew old enough to join the adults and had to keep quite!  But the turkey and stuffing...I can taste it now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.