Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Tree, Parkland, Dreghorn Wood

After spending the morning working on my bike, I need to get my blip of the day. I head to Oxgangs with the plan of getting the 16 to Colinton, but as I get near the library, it zooms past.

I change my plan and walk up Dreghorn. The path has been improved immensely from the quagmire that used to be here. I head up on the east side of the Braid Burn.

There is quite a lot of military history here, detailed on various notice boards around the wood. There are trenches from WW1 and WW2 used to simulate a battlefield and a Victorian Culvert as well as various ruins from Dreghorn Mains Farm.

At the top of the wood on this side is a small area of parkland. This bent tree seemed interesting. Different from the usual woodland images.

I carry on up, and cross over Howden Burn, then head west to cross over the Braid Burn. I then head back to my start point on Redford Road and headed home. A nice wee expedition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.