Hostile Architecture

Almost sounds like a euphemism - just another architectural style, like brutal, but it's not - it sends out a sinister signal and one which, in these times, is apparently OK. But it's not. I know the issues surrounding homelessness are complex. I know there's help and assistance out there and, to a large extent the ones who sleep rough night after night refuse to be helped. I know about the great work being done by The Whitechapel Centre - http://www.whitechapelcentre.co.uk/ and the "No second night out" campaign in Liverpool. I know that Castle Street has become a problem area as far as begging is concerned and, indeed, some of them are professional beggars. I know there have been specific complaints about the guys who used to sleep on these steps - shooting up and pissing all over the place, not to mention the stuff they leave lying around. I get all of that. But there has to be another way. Whoever is responsible for this slope sends a message to all the tourists and visitors, those who live and work in Liverpool. And it's a message I don't like. The sooner this monstrosity is gone, the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.