Xmas Market, Cologne / Köln / Keulen, Germany

No, I didn't buy anything in the market.  The things I did think of buying were rather pricey, but that was to be expected.  I did get a souvenir for hubby in a regular shop, though, and also for a cousin.  There are a couple of extras.  I also enjoyed a cozy lunch in one of their cafés -- there were a large number of mouth-watering cakes and bonbons, but I opted for soup and spaghetti and tea in anticipation of the long drive back.

This was shot at the top of the bell tower after I climbed all 533 steps.  Why do I (still) do this?  Nuttiness comes with age, as do painful knees on the way up and some slight dizziness on the way down.

It was a day trip I booked with the same company I book with whenever I go on a day trip to London.  Difference -- departure time was 8.00 instead of midnight, and I was home by 21.30.  I could have reached home earlier had it not been for a massive 1.5-hour jam from Cologne to the Dutch border owing to German road works.

The album is now on my FB page, where I wrote:
After 30 years, it was time for a visit.
I also wanted to see last New Year's Eve's crime scene.

Indeed, Cologne was the first stop of the European tour I took 30.5 years ago, the same tour when I met hubby.  We did not overnight here, though, but in Frankfurt.  One difference -- no one is allowed further inside the cathedral, unlike 30 years ago.  This is not a big deal, not for me anyway.  I just couldn't take a second look any more to check if the remains of a couple of saints were still there.  I suppose they are but that is not important.

The weather was not sunny but it remained dry, with no wind, so it was quite warm (especially after reaching the top of the tower).  We arrived at 11.15 and left at 17.15 = six hours.  I would have loved to have had the time to explore the Roman-Germanic museum, especially inspired by the Hadrian's Wall MOOC, but I can do that with another day trip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.