DancingAly

By DancingAly

A Brain in Your Head, and Feet in Your Shoes....

You can steer yourself any direction you choose.

A very anxious and stressful day today. Parents are off to Spain this afternoon, just for a few days.

It's been freezing today, but with a beautiful blue sky. I was on the phone at 9am, as I knew I had a lot to take care of. I called the agent, and let them know I wanted to make an offer, and then the financial advisor who helped me find my first mortgage. 

The long and the short of it is I am about 18k short. I knew that already really. When I asked him "what shall I doooo?" He cheerfully replied, "Buy a scratch card or start begging your parents!" Hmmm. He did say that there's no harm in making a very cheeky offer. Post-Brexit, the market's not great, it's the last plot left etc. I guess it depends how keen they are to get rid of it, and whether they can afford to be choosy. I've spent a lot of the day on a knife-edge. I've decided, having had a chat with my sister this evening, that I'm going to make that low offer, and toss it to the fates. The agent was pushing me to move quickly, and arranged to come and take photos, get floorpans etc of my house tomorrow morning. Which I had to ask for time off for. But I don't actually want to use them, so I'm going to cancel it. They're more expensive than some of the others anyways. I'm a bit of a rookie of sorts, as the first time it was just getting on the ladder. Now trying to buy and sell at the same time, I can see how it can make you feel like you're having a nervous breakdown. 

I must admit to feeling quite stressed out about actually having to part with my little house. I likely won't have to now. Which is frustrating, but maybe it's for the best. It's hard to know what to do, I'm very indecisive. Plus there's no plus one to confer with. Which is hard for me.

I went home early from work, had a nice bath to relax, and called up the PA recruitment lady I registered with last year. She was out of the office, so I spoke to another lady in the team, and she was much more positive. I said I was resigned to having to take a pay cut, but she assured me that it's not as much as I think. I would gladly take any chance I get, but only if there is room for quick progression, unlike where I am now. In my field, they're constantly looking for ways not to pay you, spouting such tired cliche's as "oh, the budget..."

And I don't want to play that game any more. I need something to get excited about. And a new job is long overdue. I spent a lot of the day listening to a colleague tell me how her lawyer daughter is living it up in Dubai. And having a fab time, working hard and playing hard. She offered to let me talk to some of her daughter's friends who've gone, so I can get more info. 

Another route I guess, but would I really go? 

I don't know.

So that's where I'm at. I wish I could go back in time and study something different. I think I'd have so many more options. But I'm a clever girl, I've just got to find the right path.

Let's see what tomorrow brings. 

* The extra pic-I just wanted to remember how bright it was today :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.