2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

my world, with joy, is replete

Here's one of the most moving love poems I know - as taken from the pictured 1993 anthology ...

... and most certainly appropriate for the end of this 2016 St. Andrew's Day:


I Love Thee

I love thee -
For the web of chastity around thee spun
To let me know
Thou art mine alone. My life had not begun
Until the glow
Of thy radiant purity outshone the sun
To melt my willing heart.

I love thee -
For the velvet sea of jet that is thy hair.
I love to swim
Through its waves, to bathe my face in it, to share
The sacred hymn
That pervades it - haunting music, void of care -
Ne'er dreamed of by Mozart.

I love thee -
For thy clear blue eyes that sparkle with a keen
Sincerity.
For thy simple, unaffected charm and mien
And honesty.
For the gracefulness and loveliness respleen
That in thy presence shine.

I love thee -
For thy lips so petal-soft and nectar-sweet -
Their tender kiss
Is unsullied by contempt or by deceit
Or avarice.
To be near thee makes my world with joy replete -
My life on earth divine.

---

D N Alcroft

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.