Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2016 Thursday -- Downtown Riverside

When my forever friend Peg sent me this text
"Don't put your jammies on yet--we are driving out to Riverside--Hideaway Cafe on Main Street--to listen to Randy and look at the lights. Wanna meet up with us???" I immediately, with my phone in my hand, flew down the stairs to the family room where Mr. Fun was getting comfy, and I said, "Look!" as I handed him my phone.

"Let's go!" I said.

He asked, "What about all the essays you need to grade?"

"They'll wait!" I replied.

So we've enjoyed a wonderful night out "playing" in the wonderland of downtown Riverside, right near the world famous Mission Inn with its zillions of holiday lights and fascinating decorations.

Scott & Peg's friend, Randy, was the one-man band at a cafe/lounge called the Hideway, and Scott jumped in to add a voice on some of the songs. We listened to Randy sing and play his guitar, and we ordered a grilled vegetariarn sandwich and divided it. Scott & Peg each had a meatloaf sandwich and we all ordered a dark beer called "Black Beauty," produced by a local micro brewer.

Being out in the holiday fun was lovely. Leaving the grading of student essays till a later time was a good decision. I'll continue grading tomorrow or Saturday or Sunday or soon.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.