Inspiring day 2

Inspiring day 2

The morning was spent interviewing candidates for a volunteer leadership post. Again, a demonstration of the willingness to devote time and energy to support the panel members and the system. And to do so despite me emphasising the level of commitment required.

A quick bite of late lunch then onto the airport bus which whisked me to its destination. An easy stroll through security (surprisingly light for a Friday afternoon) then off to the airport gate. The flight to Stornoway was smooth and a few minutes early. It meant that 3 hours after leaving the office I was settled in.

But not for long as I was due at Lews Castle for the really inspiring part of the day: a Dinner to recognise those who had made a significant contribution to the work of the children's hearings system either thought 5, 10 or 15 years service. Or through the superb discharge of their functions.

And then Santa came. (Do I have to declare on the office register what I received from Santa?? )

A really relaxed and enjoyable (despite my speech) evening of recognition and value.

The setting was stunning in the recently refurbished parts of Lews Catsle. One of the group, Catriona, had grown up there so was full of memories. So many potential blips. But the one I like is of the view of the harbour through a window. The walls have restored hand paintings of ferns and foxgloves – see extras for room and dinner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.